Skip to content

live blogging – an early christmas dinner

December 23, 2008

I’m watching the WestJet site carefully to see if my parents are actually going to take off from Vancouver Island.  If so, they will join us for an early Christmas dinner this evening.  If not, I have a mother of a slow-cooked pork shoulder to dispose of.

I appear to be my own sous-chef.  So I’ve been prepping food – starting last night.  (Posts are in the order of newest first).  Yes, I really am that pathetic that I will live-blog a meal prep.

superstacking1Tuesday, 9:00 pm.  We finish off the evening with a lively game of Speed Stacking.   Grandpa and Grandma join in, like good sports.  We deem the meal and the whole evening a success.  Isaac, age 15, says:  This was glorious.  High praise indeed…

 

 

 

 

finalkeylimeTuesday, 6:30 pm.  We sit down to eat.  The pork is perfectly moist and falling apart.  The gravy is thick and flavourful.  The roast veggies are a bit mushy, but are still earthy good.  (Anybody have any advice on roasting vegetables so they aren’t mushy?  This is a recurring problem for me).  The crunchy bok choy is a nice contrast to the soft pork.  The key lime pie is perfect, although my mom has a hellofa time getting it out of the torte pan.

grandmaTuesday, 6:00 pm.  I put my mom to work making bok choy!  Brilliant!

 

 

 

 

 

thumbprintcandiedpecans1Tuesday, 3:45 pm.  The parental unit has arrived!  They brought with them some thumbprint cookies, as I requested.  I still have some pull after all these years.  There are also some candied pecans, which I think have about a bazillion calories in them, but they taste so good.

 

cookiesTuesday, 2:30 pm.  AAAAAH. My parent’s plane from Comox has landed!  We put out the hummus and pita, and artichoke cheese dip with nacho chips.  And there’s a nice big plate of baking, thanks to my neighbours and my older kids’ stepmom (and German baking to boot).   Why am I in a panic if I had four extra hours?   Some things have no explanation. 

Tuesday, 1 pm  I am still in my pink robe, waiting for the pear-applesauce to cool so I can transfer it into a little ceramic pot.  I peeled and cored two apples and two pears, and then squeezed half a lemon over them.  I grated the lemon rind on top and added three tablespoons of brown sugar, a tablespoon maple syrup and sprinkled cinnamon on top.  I also threw in three cardamom pods that I fished out after it cooked.  Then I let it simmer on the stove for two hours.  The good thing about that was the cinnamon apple smell covered up the pig roast smell.   Or at least they cancelled each other out.   I think.  How can I tell at this point?

Ps:  Good news!  My parents are in the air – just four hours late!

keylimepieTuesday, noon.  (written by Ella, age 12). For dessert I am making a key lime pie. I got the kitchen all messy just separating the yolks from the egg whites and don’t even ask about the condensed milk, man is that stuff sticky!!!

For this recipe you can make your own crust or just buy it from a store, though I strongly suggest you make your own it makes it crumbly and buttery. Yum! My mom (foodie suz) for some reason bought two tart pans and has never made tarts so we decided to use the pan so that we said we did (mom says we are using it because it makes the crust look better, too). So now we have our key lime pie/tart freezing in the freezing as we anticipate our early Christmas dinner…….   

 

  roastedveg
Tuesday, 10 – 11 am.  Ina, why oh why do you make me peel and cut up a butternut squash?  I’m cursing and there are seeds flying everywhere and spittle is coming out of my mouth.  Is butternut squash not the hardest thing to prepare on earth? (Answer:  yes).   This takes me forever.  The vegetables look pretty, though.

Tuesday, 8 am.   My whole house smells like a pig roast.  I take out the beast and peek at it.  It is not dry – it is moist and looks like a huge piece of pulled pork.  Jamie, you came through.   I still have to pour a bottle of white wine over it and cook it for a final hour right before eating.

Monday, 8 pm.  I have a really ugly pork shoulder to slow cook, a la Jamie Oliver.  It is one of those meats that should never be photographed, less I want to show up on an Ugly Food P*rn Site.  (Thanks to Sharon for this terrible awful link).  I have to throw some roughly cut veggies (carrots, onion, garlic and fennel) in the bottom of the roaster and rub the ugly pork shoulder with fennel seed, salt and olive oil and put it in the oven for 12 hours.  My husband, Mike, is incredulous.  It is going to dry out unless you cover it!  He exclaims.  I tell him, Trust the Jamie. I put it in the oven and we go to bed.  All night long I keep waking up, smelling roast pig and thinking I was going to burn our house down.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    December 30, 2008 12:53 am

    Must tell the whole world out there that our dinner was sensational (how do you like that for an adjective, Sue!). The dips. pita, nachos and the Christmas baking were a superb start to a great evening of eating. From the veggies (and no, everyone, I didn’t think that were mushy) to the unbelievabley pork roast that melted in your mouth to the mouth watering Key Lime Pie–it was great! To top it off we even had a favorite bottle of wine in honour of the occasion. And the company we had for dinner that night certainly added to the warm feeling around the dinner table. Thank-you everyone–it was well worth the night in Comox, the icy roads, the delayed flight and the cold, cold temperatures just to be with you. Love you….xxxxx

  2. ellahorne permalink
    December 30, 2008 5:18 pm

    great dinner foodie suz!!

Leave a Reply

