Skip to content

top chef – my candy floss

December 19, 2008

fabioToday, the New York Times had an article about returning to ‘simple’ holiday meals, and referenced the TV reality show Top Chef.

I figured if the Times can mention Top Chef, than so can I.  Here’s my window to admit that my daughter Ella and I count the days down to Wednesdays at 8 pm so we can watch the show.  Thank god her soccer schedule accommodates this, because we like to watch it LIVE so we are on the cutting edge of Top Chef action

I love everything about this show. This is season five, and we hold our breath to see what the quick fire challenge is, and who wins the elimination challenge.  What dishes will they prepare?  I mean, who doesn’t love a show who attracts the Foo Fighters (my top band to see live in concert) as judges and Martha Stewart as a quick fire judge? 

Could Padma be more beautiful?  Could Fabio be more charming?  (Um, see above).  I love the Euro-love that Fabio has with Stefan.  Why are so many of the male contestants bald?  Ariane, why did you make devilled eggs for a challenge?  Even I wouldn’t do that!  Why has Jamie been in the bottom the past two episodes?  She’s an innovative and fabulous chef!  We are rooting hard for Radhika, who is lovely. 

OK, so this confession reveals a real affinity for soap operas.  In my own defence, Top Chef is the only show on TV that I actually watch.  And in high school, I used to RUSH home so I could watch Young and Restless.  So consider this my soap opera, updated to year 2008.  Isn’t escape, drama and serial action what reality shows are all about?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2008 2:13 pm

    I’m telling Jamie about your new Fabio crush…

  2. December 19, 2008 2:15 pm

    It is Ella, not me. She wanted me to write that Fabio is ‘dreamy’ but I refused and used the word ‘charming’ instead.

  3. December 19, 2008 2:25 pm

    uh huh. sure. your husband better not read this blog.

  4. December 19, 2008 3:07 pm

    Haha… I find Fabio “charming” as well. Though not as charming as my half Italian husband, obviously.

    Man, I love Top Chef.

  5. December 22, 2008 4:49 pm

    I need to join in on the Top Chef love. Unfortunately I don’t have a TV so I’ve only seen bits and pieces of the past five seasons. But if I had one, I’d be all over it.

  6. January 1, 2009 2:41 pm

    I second this! Top Chef is the only show I follow and it is most worthy of 40 minutes of my time ( I download, no commercials). I appreciate the down play of personal drama and the focus on real cooking.

  7. January 1, 2009 6:02 pm

    What I want to know is: Is regular programming on next Wednesday?!?! PVR’ing it is the way to go – there are sometimes ridiculously long commercials about the hinderland or something that cause the show to go way over its hour allotment.

    I’m dying here with the statutory holidays being the last two Wednesdays (although there was a Top Chef marathon on yesterday – I watched the finale of the first season while I was making dinner!). It was between Tiffani and Harold – the show was a bit bumpy at the beginning, although they have kept the same format. I did not know that Billy Joel’s wife was the original Padma! I also watched a ‘summary’ of the show with all the former participants – and they almost came to blows. I think they’ve toned down the cat-fights, a la America’s Next Top Model in the recent seasons.

Leave a Reply

