Skip to content

whipped shortbread

December 16, 2008

whippedshortbread

This is a classic recipe from my mom.  I’m discovering in my baking frenzy that Christmas is more about tradition and memories than it is about trying out fancy new things.  My kids are much more fond of almond roca, peanut butter butterscotch squares, and this whipped shortbread than they are of anything new I’ve baked.  (Sorry, Real Simple).

You made this!  I love this!  They say, clearly dredging up a happy memory from years past.  I do the same thing with my mom’s own baking.  (Speaking of which, Mom!  Bring thumbprint jam cookies when you visit next week!). 

I’ve taken note for Christmas dinner, which will be standard fare, with maybe one new dish thrown in for my own amusement.  (Hanne’s Supper in Stereo salad looks awfully good).

This recipe was written in my teenage handwriting, from over twenty years ago when I decided to write out my mom’s recipes for my own recipe box.  (Now I have totally dated myself here.  Yup, I’m that old).

recipe1

Whipped Shortbread

1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups white flour
1/2 cup icing sugar
cherry pieces

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat the butter, flour and icing sugar for a long time.  A very long time.  A stand-alone mixer is helpful in this recipe.  Beat at least twenty minutes, scraping the sides as you go.  The dough should looked like whipped icing when you are done.  Do not give up until it is thoroughly whipped.

Drop dough by the spoonful on a baking sheet.  Top with a cherry piece.  Bake 15 minutes, or until slightly golden (watch carefully at the end because they burn easily).  Wait until they are completely cooled before you transfer them to the baking sheet, as they crumble easily.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dinnerwithjulie permalink
    December 16, 2008 9:58 pm

    Wow, we must have been separated at birth. I have tons of old recipe cards I wrote at that age, and younger.. when I used to babysit I loved going through people’s cookbooks and recipe cards while watching Fantasy Island. (How’s that for dating myself?)

  2. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    December 17, 2008 11:44 pm

    Do you realize that I, unlike you by the sounds of things, was not going to do any Christmas baking this year? But I did pick up on your “nudge” here and so may get the urge! If I do get some baking done, heaven knows if it will survive the trip, but I guess we can always eat the crumbs of broken cookies with a spoon! That is if we can get off the island–we are snowed in right now and the the roads are impassable. There are snowfall warnings off and on past Christmas. Hopefully Tuesday will be an off day and we can get up to Comox and the plane can take off!

Leave a Reply

