Skip to content

fondue fridays

December 13, 2008

fondueWe had a fondue yesterday, which was Friday.  So I dubbed it Fondue Fridays, even though I have never had a fondue on a Friday in my life, and in fact, I do not even own a fondue pot.   As you can see, we ate the fondue out of the saucepan on the counter.  It was very classy.

My husband said two things about the fondue:
1.  Flashback to the 70’s, huh?
2.  You sure like cheese, huh?

Yes to both.  Although I ate fondue in the late 1980’s, not the 1970’s.  In regards to #2, half my body weight is made up of cheese. 

I liked this fondue.  It was cheesy (no kidding), but had a bite from the garlic and fennel.  The mix of wine to cheese was perfect and it was thick without being goopy.  This was very rich and we had tons leftover, that I will use for omelettes.  I’d suggest this would serve about 6 adults.

This was a variation of a fondue from Bon Appetit.  I didn’t have half the stuff, but I had other stuff, so here it is.

Friday Fondue

1 mushroom, diced small
1/4 cup red onion, diced small
3 garlic cloves, diced small
pat of butter
2 Tablespoons fennel seeds
salt and pepper

2 Tablespoons plus 1 cup white wine
1/4 cup gin
4 teaspoons cornstarch
2 cups gruyere cheese, grated
2 cups gouda cheese, grated

5 thick slices ciabatta bread, cut into 1 inch squares
cooked ham, cut into 1 inch squares

Melt butter in small frypan.  Add mushrooms, red onion and garlic and cook for four minutes.  Crush up fennel seeds with salt and pepper.  Add to mixture.

Mix together 2 Tablespoons wine and cornstarch in small bowl.  Set aside.

In a heavy saucepan, simmer the rest of the wine and gin.  Add cheeses, a handful at a time – stir until melted between each handful.  Add cornstarch mixture until it starts to bubble.  Then stir in the mushroom mixture.

If you have a fondue pot, transfer the cheese into it now.  Serve with bread and ham.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen K permalink
    December 31, 2008 11:21 pm

    You are my soul sister, Sue. I looooooove fondue. M and I went to Edmonton’s stalwart of suave, Cafe Select, on a rare childless ‘date night’ and ordered their herb and spice cheese fondue. The waiter warned us “you’ll never finish it, you know…”, but we smugly asked for more bread after we annihilated the first one.

    Did you know I have 3 fondue pots? We used to fondue all the time, but now I cannot bring them out until kidlets are older. Once they are, bring on the butane, baby!

  2. January 1, 2009 7:36 am

    Ha, that’s too funny. I used to own many fondue pots too, but got rid of them along the way and had to go on a mad hunt for a new one! (I found one at IKEA – but it was fifty bucks!).

    We even had fondue last night (NY Eve). Aaron participated and got chocolate all over his nose. And yes, those fondue sticks are like lethal weapons!

Leave a Reply

