Skip to content

sweet and sour roast chicken and noodles, amaretto rice pudding

December 7, 2008

I managed to snag all three kids for Sunday dinner tonight.  Everybody with younger kids is thinking of course you must have them home for dinner, every night, but I’m telling ya – I used to think that too.  Until they got active social lives and a bus pass.  Then they were often at friend’s or a movie, or at soccer practice for dinner, and dinner with all five of us became a rarity.  If I catch them three times a week, I’m lucky.  But Sunday dinner is a no negotiation meal.  Everybody must be here.

Last Sunday, we ordered pizza and Isaac, age 15, said, in a most disappointed manner:  No Sunday dinner?   I didn’t realize they noticed, but they do. 

Tonight we had Sweet and Sour Roast Chicken adapted from my boyfriend Jamie Oliver. 

sweetsourchicken

Sweet and Sour Roast Chicken

4 ½ lb chicken
sea salt and fresh ground pepper
handful of fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
4 thumb sized pieces of fresh ginger, grated with skin left on
1/2 lime
2 red peppers, halved and deseeded
2 yellow peppers, halved and deseeded
2 red onions peeled
2 fresh chilies, snapped in half
1 ripe pineapple, peeled, quartered and chopped (or two tins drained pineapple pieces)
1 teaspoon fennel seeds, crushed
olive oil
2 tablespoons sugar
6 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons cilantro

Preheat the oven to 350F. Season the chicken with salt and pepper and rub with olive oil.  Stuff with the parsley and ginger and half a lime.

Cut your peppers and red onions into quarters and put them into a lasagna dish. Add the chilies, pineapple and crushed fennel seeds. Drizzle with 3 good glugs of olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and toss until well coated. Place your chicken on top and cook in the oven for 1 ½ – 2 hours.

Once cooked, drain the chicken juices out of the pan. Remove the chicken to a plate with half of the vegetables and pineapple, and allow to rest for 5 minutes while you make your sauce. Put the remaining vegetables and pineapple from the pan into a blender with the sugar and the vinegar, and correct the seasoning with a little salt.  Garnish with remaining cilantro.

Serve with stir-fried noodles. 

 

I used Shanghai Thin Noodles and stirfried them with hoisin sauce.   The chicken was fine – not super juicy, but perfectly acceptable.  The sauce on top was what was sweet and sour – due to the sugar and vinegar additions.   You know, the vegetables were very soft, so I don’t think they’d make for good leftovers.  But I fished out the leftover chicken and Isaac made himself a chicken sandwich for school lunch tomorrow. 

This recipe was from early Jamie in his Naked Chef days, and I think his recipes have matured with some time.   This was a 6.5 out of ten.  But I’m not sure I’d make it again.  It does sound alluring from reading the recipe, though.  Maybe adding some cornstarch to some chicken broth and thickening the sauce would help?

So this afternoon we were at Aaron’s friend’s birthday party this afternoon consuming a SUPER GOOD carrot cake from the Gourmet Cookbook, made by  Millcreek Baker Extraordinaire, Karen K.  We were joking after my Food Writing Course, my descriptors for food moved from good to super good.

(If Karen K. is reading this, please provide a link to a recipe for your SUPER GOOD carrot cake).

Even though we had sweets this afternoon, we always have dessert with Sunday dinner so I made rice pudding.  Barefoot Contessa has a lovely creamy rice pudding and soaks up an amazing amount of cream (I used a combination of 1/4 whipping cream to 3/4 whole milk).  I didn’t have dark rum (what pirate in my house has been drinking my rum?) so I soaked the raisins in Amaretto instead.  Amaretto is my absolute favourite liqueur, but I shall leave that for another post.  I have a serious crush on rice pudding – my mom used to make it when I was a kid, and it is heavy duty comfort food for me.

Since I used Ina’s recipe almost exactly, the link to it on Food Network is here. 

 ricepudding

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen K permalink
    December 7, 2008 9:48 pm

    Sue – you know I ALWAYS read your blog! Here’s a link to the carrot cake recipe’s creator (author? father? inventor?):
    http://www1.phillyburbs.com/pb-dyn/news/105-12142007-1456360.html

    I adapted the recipe somewhat, leaving out the last four ingredients (pineapple, coconut, walnuts, raisins) to please the palates of fussy children and accommodate allergies. I added a wee bit more carrot to compensate. I have no idea how much a “wee bit” is, though. Sorry. But I bet the recipe would be SUPER SUPER GOOD with all that extra yum in it.

  2. December 8, 2008 3:20 pm

    Funny, we felt the need for Sunday dinner here too – roast beef with mashed potatoes and butterscotch pudding for dessert. Dinner, brought to you by the colour brown.

Trackbacks

  1. baked french potatoes « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

