Skip to content

jamie magazine

December 6, 2008

jamiemagazine

Two minutes ago, I just read in the Globe and Mail that Jamie Oliver has launched a magazine.  He has gone all Oprah on us, and it is called:  Jamie Magazine.

I ran from the couch where I was reading the paper to my computer to subscribe to this magazine, because that’s the kind of lemming I am.  It cost 44.50 pounds, which translates into $84.70.  MY GOD PEOPLE.  I HAVE CLEARLY LOST IT HERE.

(Shhh, don’t tell my husband because I used his credit card to pay for it). 

I guess there will be no Christmas gifts for me this year.

I also subscribe to Saveur and Bon Appetit

I know all this magazine subscription business is ridiculous because you can find almost all the content on-line, but you cannot really take a computer into the bathtub while you are having a bubble bath, can you?  That’s my excuse, and I’m sticking to it.  Plus I love getting something in the mail other than bills and mail for the guy who used to live here eight years ago.

Do you subscribe to any food magazines?  ‘Fess up in the comments, dear readers…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 4:59 pm

    I recently subscribed to Gourmet and I’m anxiously awaiting my first copy…I have a feeling I have missed December’s and will have to wait for January. It will be a late Christmas present! You should report back on what Jamie is like.

  2. December 6, 2008 10:11 pm

    I just liberated 10 years of Gourmet, Cooking Light, Martha, and Bon Appetit… I loved reading them, but I got tired of no being able to access them in our small house. Time to restock – still subscribe to Gourmet.

    You’ll have to let us know if it’s any good – I’m always sceptical of the brand of the celebrity chef. But I do have a couple of his books and have used them with great success.

  3. a. west permalink
    December 7, 2008 12:08 pm

    If I did subscribe to a food magazine, it would be Olive and delicious. But I don’t, so instead I just pick them up every once in a while. And if I’m in England, I definitely pick up the latest issue for less than what we end up paying here.

    Do let us know if it’s any good though.

  4. December 8, 2008 9:05 am

    I’m cancelling my Bon Appetit subscription to make room for something new this year– I was thinking maybe Saveur, but I’m not sure yet. I also get Gourmet, which I love. I’m curious to hear how this Jamie one will be!

  5. December 8, 2008 8:35 pm

    Last magazine I subscribed to, a few years back, was Canadian Gardener. But if I were to subscribe to one, Jamie’s would be a contender. Or at least I thought so, until you mentioned the price!!! Good lord!!

    Of all the celeb chefs, I think Jamie’s come around and now has got it right: if you want real quality, grow it yourself. Remove the pretension. Amen!

  6. Despina permalink
    July 23, 2009 5:15 am

    I too subscribe to Jamie and i is worth every penny. I am gald to see other canadians getting hs mag. I have a recipe in the last pages of his first issue, you should try it.

Trackbacks

  1. jamie magazine arrived today! « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

