Skip to content

epic tree decorating, glogg and pie

December 5, 2008

treestand

Our family decorates the Christmas tree in many stages.  First is the procurement of the tree – this one is a white pine from a makeshift tree stand on 114 Street, by the School for the Deaf.

We then had to wait for the branches to fall, because the tree was so darn cold.  While we were doing that, we consumed:

pieandglogg

A blackberry mango pie from Sunterra and glogg from IKEA.  I know I complain about Sunterra because it is expensive, but there are certain things I consistently buy from there:  Bison cheddar salsa burgers, lemon squares, butter tarts, orzo pine nut salad, and, yes, pies.  Plus, the cashiers at the Lendrum store are really nice.  I love the way their coffee shop is filled to the brim with retirees – this must be the place to go and be seen if you are retired. 

Sunterra’s pies are delectable.  There are big chunks of lightly sweetened fruit inside, and the pastry is flaky and moist.  I don’t know how they do it, but I’m willing to shell out nine bucks for one of their pies and let them do all the work. 

The glogg is of course glogg.  Here’s a recipe to make the homemade stuff if you don’t want to venture to IKEA.  I know the IKEA stuff is authentic, though, because the blurb on the back is written in Swedish. 

I warmed the glogg in a saucepan added a splash of Valpolicella red wine to mine, but I think the addition of brandy might liven things up.  Too bad I don’t have a liquor store attached to my house.  (That’s not the first time I’ve had that thought).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 10:14 pm

    Sunterra makes very yummy lemon squares!

  2. Dajana permalink
    December 13, 2008 6:09 pm

    Thank you for listing your Sunterra ‘must-haves’!

    Also, I laughed out loud when I read…

    “…this must be the place to go and be seen if you are retired.”

    What a fun, unpretentious and relatable blog!

    Kudos to you!

  3. December 13, 2008 7:51 pm

    Hey, Dajana…thanks for the super nice comment! We are a very messy real family – so I’m glad our authenticness shines through on this blog.

Leave a Reply

