Skip to content

fake and bake – peanut butter butterscotch squares

December 2, 2008

fakenbake

All the bakers who read this blog are collectively gasping at this post.  My apologies in advance.  Since it is the beginning of December, I started what I loosely term My Christmas Baking

I use the term baking very liberally because this is hardly a baked recipe – in fact, it is melted on top of the stove.  I guess it is more like candy.

But let’s start with the easy Christmas “baking” wins, shall we?  My kids adore these.  They are trashy, but taste really rich and goopy. 

Peanut Butter Butterscotch Squares

1/2 cup butter
1 package butterscotch chips
1 cup peanut butter
1 3/4 cups mini-marshmallows

Melt butter and butterscotch chips in saucepan on stove.  Don’t stir until melted, or it will become grainy.  Watch it doesn’t burn!

Take off the burner and stir in peanut butter until it melts.  Add mini-marshmallows and press into a greased 8 x 8 inch pan.  Put in fridge until set.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2008 7:39 pm

    Hey, if the kids adore them, who cares if they’re trashy! I’ll take trashy and tasty over pretentious and ‘okay’, any day.

  2. December 2, 2008 9:37 pm

    Hey Sue, Did you know that Gourmet has posted its favorite Christmas cookie of the year from 1941 to 2008? http://www.gourmet.com/recipes/cookies Maybe there’s some good inspiration for your Christmas baking project. For the record, I do my Christmas baking usually sometime around Dec 20, and by the time I give out cookies, everyone is completely sick of cookies and I’m sure they just sit and get stale. How pessimistic am I?! Jenn

  3. December 4, 2008 4:35 pm

    Thanks, Jennifer! That was my excuse to run out and buy the new Gourmet magazine (although the top cookies are on the website, not the magazine)…

    Any excuse to buy food magazines…which my friend John terms: food p*rn.

Trackbacks

  1. whipped shortbread « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

