Skip to content

sour cream banana cake

December 1, 2008

I’m not a fan of banana bread.   It usually tastes too much like overripe bananas.  I like my bananas barely ripened, just past the green stage.  BUT.

I had these four small bananas slowly going rotten in my fruit basket.  It was a sad sight.  I had to do something with them.  Pronto.

Thankfully, the Epicurous site has a massive database of magazine recipes from Gourmet and Bon Appetit among others.  I can type pretty much any ingredient in their search engine, and up pops a recipe.

The sour cream saves this banana cake.  The sour cream somehow tempers the strong taste of ripened bananas, and gives it a soft banana overtone, instead of shouting I AM MADE OF BANANAS from the top of the hillside.  I like that. 

Here’s the recipe.  I am not much of a baker, so I followed it exactly.  I’m not going to pretend I put my own touches on it, because I didn’t.  Here’s the final result.

bananacake

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2008 9:33 am

    While I like banana bread (which is odd, as bananas eaten alone make me gag), the idea of the banana/sour cream combo sounds even better. This is going on my recipe pile for sure.

Leave a Reply

