Skip to content

bok choy me

November 29, 2008

bokchoy2

I opened the bag of Bok Choy and immediately started ringing my hands.  I did not know what to do with it.  Is it like spinach, and should I just fry up the leaves in olive oil and garlic?  Do I throw out the thick white stalk?  Panic quickly set in.

Luckily, I had both John (the cake guy) and Epicurous at my disposal.  They saved my bok choy ass by telling me what to do. 

Stir-Fried Bok Choy with Garlic

1/3 cup chicken broth
1 Tbsp soya sauce
1 1/2 tsp cornstarch
2 Tbsp peanut oil
4 thinly sliced garlic cloves
1 pound bok choy, sliced lengthwise, thick ends trimmed off
2 tsp sesame oil
salt and pepper

Stir together chicken broth, soya sauce and cornstarch until the cornstarch is dissolved.

Heat a deep fry pan or wok over high heat and drop in peanut oil.  Add garlic and fry until golden brown.  Stir fry bok choy in two batches until the leaves wilt and turn bright green.  Turn down heat, and stir in broth and simmer about 4 minutes.  Take off the heat and stir in sesame oil and serve.  Salt and pepper to taste.

In the end, the bok choy was very mild, and swimming in the fragrant sauce.  It is simple fare, but sturdy, and bok choy stands up to stir frying, and doesn’t disappear into a little mound like the pithy spinach does.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2008 10:53 pm

    One of my favorite veg experiences is slightly burned [read, charred] baby bok choy. I know. Burned. Try it. Just a little burned….

Trackbacks

  1. live blogging - an early christmas dinner « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

