Skip to content

T&T extravaganza

November 28, 2008

T&T Supermarket is one of those not-so-hidden finds in Edmonton.  It isn’t hidden at all – in fact, it is located in the biggest shopping mall in the world – West Edmonton Mall. 

T&T first opened in Burnaby BC in 1993.  Since then, this Canadian chain has expanded throughout Vancouver and Toronto area, and Edmonton and Calgary.  So it isn’t what I’d term local, but it does carry more diverse groceries than most places in town.

T&T touts itself as an Asian supermarket and it is a pretty amazing shopping experience.  There are aisles and aisles of the most exotic food – a whole aisle of dried mushrooms, another of soya sauce, another of exotic looking mango drinks.

There’s also a Dim Sum area, Hot Food, a bakery, and a sushi stand.  The sushi was so pretty that I could not resist buying it so I could photograph it.  Oh, and I also peeled the fish off the top and ate it, sashimi style.

sushi

I really love sesame balls, and T&Ts were soft and so warm inside that they fogged up my glasses when I bit into them.  The insides were gooey and delectable, and there was a little present of red bean paste in the very middle. 

The prices at T&T are cheap, especially for the produce.  I bought a big bundle of ginger and red chilis for less than two dollars each.  I found a great bounty of food there – bok choy is on the dinner menu tonight.  And once I figure out what to do with the Rambutan fruit, I’ll let you know…

bounty

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 11:07 pm

    Even though I recall some scandal about a location elsewhere, and even though I’ve touched some meat packages and gagged at the stench of my fingers afterward, I still dig the place too. It’s fun.

  2. December 1, 2008 2:29 pm

    I love that place. There is one here in Calgary, but it’s a bit of s trec rom our house. I may have to make a trip soon… I always stock up on frozen edamame and buy a mango angle food cake from the bakery.

  3. December 1, 2008 9:53 pm

    Kevin, are you talking about the upcoming T&T location in North Town Mall? It seems to be in perpetual construction. What’s the “scandal?”

    Meanwhile, I think it’s cool that the CEO is a woman. I saw her profiled in CBC.

  4. December 1, 2008 10:41 pm

    Lea – http://www.calgaryhealthregion.ca/publichealth/envhealth/inspection_orders/Judges_Decisions/Judge_Decision_TT_Supermarket_April_30_2008.pdf
    Just googled it, admittedly I don’t know much about it and certainly am not interested in spreading bad press. I still go there…

Leave a Reply

