Skip to content

what i ate for lunch

November 27, 2008

whatiateforlunch

Two years, ago, a book came out about blogging called Nobody cares what you had for lunch by Margaret Mason.

I dutifully purchased the book for a personal blog that I’ve been keeping for a few years.  I’m now finding the title of Mason’s book especially amusing now that I have entered the food blog world.

The title is a bit of a misnomer, since the book turned out to be strategies for new writers to write, and ideas to populate a blog.  I think she picked this title to be controversial – and so you pick up the book. 

Jennifer Cockrall-King mentioned at our food writing course that something like 10% of the blogs out there are food blogs.  I think this number is growing. 

And according to my stats, people do care what I ate for lunch!  Ha!

So here it is:  I ate a chicken (leftover drumstick meat), spreadable goat cheese, tomato, cilantro, and havarti cheese sandwich for lunch.  Assembled on Cob’s capeseed loaf bread.

Here are some interesting links talking about the world of food blogs:

North Coast Journal article by Bob Doran
San Francisco Chronicle article called Going Blog Wild by Amanda Berne
The Amateur Gourmet by Adam Roberts – post about food blogging
The Strand (University of Toronto student paper) – Food for Blog by Mishal Cazmi
Boston Globe, Jessica Thomson – Blogs add a new ingredient to food

(Some of these articles are a couple of years old.  Please include any links to more recent pieces in the comments!).

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 27, 2008 9:22 pm

    Ah, so it’s not just me. I have a tag called ‘Just My Dinner’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

