Skip to content

christmas cookie challenge

November 26, 2008

I note that it is now less than one month until Christmas.   Here I am, sounding like I’m from the 1950’s again, but I need to get crackin’ on my Christmas baking.

I have not done the best job of Christmas baking in the past years.  My own mom used to make some greatly-coveted standards – thumbprint cookies, buttertart squares, fudge, anise cookies, fruit and nut shortbread and Christmas cake – every year.  My brother and I looked forward to a bounty of baking that was reserved solely for the holidays.

I usually make whipped shortbread, and peanut butter marshmallow squares.  That’s kind of pathetic.  One ambitious year I made batches of Almond Roca and sent them out as gifts in little Tupperware containers.  That was a big hit.

This year I have challenged myself to expand my cookie repertoire.  Here it is, for all the Internet to hear:  I am going to make the four Christmas cookie recipes from this month’s Real Simple.  Shocking, I know.  But there it is, for all to see.

The new recipes are linked here.  They are:

  • Raspberry Pinwheels
  • Pecan Snowballs
  • Ginger Chocolate-Chip Bars
  • Glazed Lemon Cookies

Please link to your own #1 favourite Christmas baking recipes in the comments!

Leave a Reply

