Skip to content

afternoon delight

November 19, 2008

tea

I shamelessly stole this tea idea from Supper in Stereo.

Then I baked Blueberry Poundcake, a rerun recipe.  My old Moosewood Cookbook is 16 years old, but it is an old standby.  I love the way the Molly Katzen uses natural ingredients, without calling them local or organic – clearly these are words of the new millennium.  Low-fat was hot in the early 1990’s, and the cookbook reflects lighter ingredients – less butter, oil and eggs.

mixermoosewood1batterblueberrypoundcake

I’m home after school when my kids burst through the door.  My mom used to have fresh baking waiting for my brother and I upon our return, and now I do that too.  I know it seems outdated. 

But I like doing it.  It must be the food = love thing all mashed in with my feminist sensibilities.  I am a enigma.  Wrapped in a riddle.  Shrouded in a mystery.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2008 1:41 pm

    That last paragraph is hysterical. There is nothing wrong with seemingly outdated desire. I do that and my oldest is only 2!

  2. tarah2 permalink
    November 22, 2008 3:28 am

    Ha, I just asked for a Moosewood cookbook for my birthday. This just confirms that I want one!

Trackbacks

  1. specialty food shops in edmonton « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

