Skip to content

the add-on dinner

November 12, 2008

broccoli

Because I’m a freelancer, I’m in the privileged position of setting my own hours.  But sometimes a deadline or meetings get the best of me, and I’m not home all day.  Then I start panicking about dinner.

Today I stopped by Safeways on the drive back from downtown.  It was packed with students with overflowing baskets, shopping very European, one meal at a time. 

I would have looked similarly sophisticated if I didn’t have a big cart full of a massive bag of diet dog food for our fat dog. 

Since I didn’t arrive home until dinner, we had what I’d term an add-on meal.   This is fast food/deli items supplemented to temper my guilt. 

First take a deli chicken.  Rub it with olive oil and fresh rosemary.  Season with salt and pepper, put half a lemon up its bum, and throw it in a 325 degree oven for half an hour.

The take some bakery French bread.  Wrap in tin foil and warm in oven.  Serve with butter mushed up with minced garlic cloves and chopped Italian parsley.

Then fry up two pieces of bacon, crumble, and add to a bagged Caesar salad.

Steam some broccoli crowns.  In a bowl, mix soya sauce, vinegar, minced ginger and minced garlic.  Brown sesame seeds in the oven.  Pour mixture over broccoli and keep warm in oven until ready to serve.

It ain’t pretty, but that was our dinner tonight.  My kids raved about the broccoli.  My daughter was licking the broccoli sauce off of her plate.  I have left over chicken for lunch sandwiches on left over French bread.  It was a very practical end to a crazy busy day.

Leave a Reply

