Skip to content

vicki’s cookies

September 30, 2008

I have an archive of cookie recipes scrawled on index cards and scraps of paper.  I make cookies when I’m feeling rotten.  I know this is the comfort food of my childhood.  My mom had a steady supply of yummy homemade cookies:  peanut butter, chocolate chip, gingersnap.  Piping hot cookies often awaited us when we returned from school.  We never had store-bought cookies, and I’m the same as my mom.

(Although my kids go NUTS when there is a box of Oreos in the house.  Ditto with the forbidden soda pop). 

I made these this afternoon.  They are called Vicki’s cookies after an old long-lost friend from Winnipeg.  I cannot even remember her last name, but our kids played together about 12 years ago, and she looked exactly like a younger version of Joni Mitchell.

These look like chocolate, taste like chocolate and embody all that is chocolate.  That’s good for a brief happiness fix, isn’t it?

Vicki’s Cookies

1 cup butter
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups white flour
2/3 cup cocoa
3/4 tsp soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups chocolate chips

Do what you to to make cookies.  Beat the wet stuff, combine the dry stuff, fold in together.  Bake at 350 degrees x 12 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

