Skip to content

braised short ribs

September 10, 2008

Every month I look forward to my Bon Appetit magazine showing up in my mailbox.  They do not disappoint.  I love the cover – what soulful-looking fall food.  I made the Braised Short Ribs tonight, and served them with sourdough bread, baby potatoes and roasted carrots and turnips.  (I was the only one who touched the turnips).

I just heard my mom fall off her chair from 1,200 kilometers away.  Yes I refused to eat turnips (and green peppers) when I was young.   But maybe my palate has matured, but the turnips were so good roasted in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper and then garnished with flat leaf parsley.  Yum.

Click here for the Braised Short Rib recipe.  I left out the mushrooms because I live with a bunch of mushroom-haters, but it was dead easy to make.  Dump everything in the slow cooker.  Push ‘cook’.  Enjoy eight hours later.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    September 19, 2008 11:47 pm

    You are right–I can’t believe what I have just read! You finally tired of corn and only corn did you? xx

Trackbacks

  1. dinner party menu « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

