Skip to content

chocolate mocha mousse. and used dryer sheets.

August 18, 2008

 
The mousse in action.  I smushed the wafer crust in the fridge door.  And I forgot to put the crumb sprinkles on top.  It is 36 degrees here (outside – inside it is hotter.  We have no air conditioning) and I cannot think straight. 

It is my daughter Ella’s 12th birthday.  As is our tradition, the birthday person gets to pick the menu for their dinner.  Ella picked:  fusilli with Italian sausage and fennel and a ‘chocolate mousse’ cake.

Thankfully, my mom used to make a chocolate mousse for birthdays.  I dug up her recipe from the trusty Best of Bridge cookbooks.  The Best of Bridge cookbook series was da bomb when I started cooking.  It featured easy accessible recipes, and mine have been very well-thumbed for years.  That is, until my boyfriend favourite new cook Jamie Oliver came along.

Anyhow, this is from the yellow Best of Bridge (we identified each of the cookbooks by their colour).  I do not own a double-boiler (WHY?  OH WHY?) so of course I burned the marshmallows.  I managed to salvage the recipe by just taking the top marshmallows off the top and avoiding the burned bits, but I then had a saucepan full of burned sugar.  Sigh.  Not again.

Well, thanks to the trusty Internet, my burned saucepan is no more.  I googled:  Burned sugar in pan and voila – an instant answer:  first, boil water in the pot.  Then put a used dryer sheet in the bottom.  Let soak for a while.  Use dryer sheet to scrape out burned bits.  It totally worked.  Who knew?

Chocolate Mocha Mousse
(adapted from Best of Bridge)

200 grams oreo cookie crumbs
1/4 cup melted butter
14 chocolate wafers
1 cup boiling water
4 tsps instant coffee
1 big package marshmallows
1 cup whipping cream

Melt marshmallows in a double boiler (do not burn them…trust me on this).  Add boiling water to a bowl; add instant coffee and stir.  Once marshmallows are melted, stir in coffee water.  Put in fridge for 1 hour.

Take oreo crumbs and mix with butter.  Press into bottom of springform pan.  Place the chocolate wafers along the side of the pan.

Whip cream.  Remove chilled coffee mixture and whip.  Fold cream and coffee mixture together and pour into pan.  Sprinkle some oreo cookie crumbs on top.

Chill and then serve.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

