Skip to content

black bean, italian sausage and sweet potato chili/soup

June 8, 2008

I am growing very fond of the Dinner with Julie food blog.  As Julie documents each day’s meals, I print them off.  And then I make them.

What I love about these recipes is that she’s very practical about using leftovers to make subsequent meals.  But she just doesn’t warm up dry old things in the fridge – she actually creates new dishes.   I’m still on my foodie kick and there is no end in sight.  Alas, making new recipes every day gets is very expensive.  So I need to be more frugal and creative about using stuff that is already in my fridge/pantry.

I made her Sausage, Black Bean and Sweet Potato soup.  But I’m not fond of soupy-soup, so I made the following revisions:

  • I added only 1/2 litre of chicken stock
  • I added 1 cup of tomato sauce
  • I put some chopped cilantro, shredded cheddar and sour cream on the side
  • And we ate toasted cheese scones (from Sunterra bakery) along with it.

For this dish, all I bought was a .45 cent jalapeno pepper and a .79 cent sweet potato.  Everything else I had sitting around my kitchen.

In the end, it was chili, not soup, but it was SO SO GOOD.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. dinnerwithjulie permalink
    June 8, 2008 11:38 pm

    Wow, the sour cream and cheese sounds delish!! (I’m not fond of soupy soup either! I like something I can CHEW.)

Leave a Reply

