Skip to content

secret meatballs and smashed potatoes

April 8, 2008

 

The reason these are secret is because I bring meatballs for every single potluck I have ever been invited to.  And everybody raves about them, and I go – gosh, thanks. 

But I’ll let you in on a secret.  They are meatballs and gravy from IKEA.  Make two packages of the gravy according to the recipe and then throw it in the slow cooker with the meatballs for the rest of the afternoon. 

For the potatoes, I did not peel them, cut them into four, boiled them in salted water, added olive oil, salt, pepper and a spoonful of sour cream and smashed them.  Then because I made them earlier this afternoon, before I went to work, I warmed them up in the oven for half an hour. 

There’s really no use going through the motions of having a vegetable with this.  The Norwegians don’t.  From living there, I discovered that the potato is their main vegetable.  With lots of butter and cream.  They will eat and then take the dog for a brisk walk up a mountain and then all is forgiven!

So we will do the same, without the dog walk or the mountain. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

