Skip to content

gnocchi with brown butter and thyme

January 2, 2010

gnocchi with browned butter and thyme

This is a Giada recipe.  I bought my gnocchi at the Italian Centre because I’m lazy and also afraid to make gnocchi.  My now-88 year old grandma had a very bad experience with it and it stuck with me.

Cook gnocchi in boiling salted water until it is floating.  In the meantime, melt 1/2 cup butter in a fry pan until brown (about two minutes after it is melted).  Add 1/4 cup chopped thyme.  Drain gnocchi.  Add to butter and toss.  Serve.

We ate it with roast chicken (stuff half a lemon up its bum, rub with olive oil and salt and cook at 400 until leg is jiggly), wilted spinach (cook in olive oil and minced garlic until wilted) and salad from a bag.

That’s how our family eats.  I guess you could term us as ‘homey’.  We eat at home a lot.  As Popeye said:  I yam what I yam. Thanks for reading everybody, and Happy New Year…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 3:13 pm

    Couldn’t leave a comment on the above post so leaving it here.

    Good luck on your other endeavors.

    Will miss your posts. Look forward to your comeback :)

    Later gater.

  2. January 7, 2010 8:36 am

    This is so simple — love it. We always have gnocchi in our pantry, as I prefer it to pasta, but it never feels right with a heavy sauce on it.

  3. January 15, 2010 11:40 am

    Sue!

    Best of luck with pursuing other creative projects. I’ve enjoyed Foodie Suz very much.

    all the best for 2010

  4. February 28, 2010 10:12 am

    Looks amazing! I made mine with sage and garlic butter, but I’ll have to try thyme next time.

Trackbacks

  1. Only Here for the Food » Blog Archive » The Cooking Chronicles: Gnocchi in Sage and Garlic Butter

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

