Skip to content

the bothy

December 9, 2009

I stumbled upon the Bothy via Only Here for the Food’s Food notes.  I love Sharon’s Food Notes.  She has the scoop on everything new in the Edmonton food world.  I’d be about six months behind what’s happening without her.So thanks for that, Sharon.  Chowhound has a few posts about The Bothy too.

The Bothy is a brand spankin’ new wine and whisky bar, just off Calgary Trail, across from the Weber Centre in the strip mall that houses Eddie’s Men’s Wear, and a Bin 104, a very nice wine shop.

I didn’t bring my camera because it was dark, dinner and the place just opened.  I mean, ’tis fair to give a place at least a month to get its legs before descending upon it with a review.  I just offer up lame-ass reviews, anyhow.

But first impressions?

  • love the space.  deep reds, paintings, cosy bar feel
  • bluegrass music mixed with dance tunes.  eclectic, fun mix
  • this is a thinking (wo)man’s place for food and drink.  what luxury to have decisions about choosing a wine flight, cheese and charcuterie.  the standard menu features an eclectic choice of French (cassoulet) and Scottish (haggis, anyone?)
  • the sharing plate was impeccable and came adorned with sweet chutney, dried apricots, pesto and a warm bagette that was voluntarily replenished
  • service was exceedingly knowledgeable about the vino, and very attentive.

I have been waiting for a place like this to open in Edmonton for a long long time.  Wine flights?  Check?  Sophisticated bar?  Check?  And special for my Mike?  Whisky.  PLUS it is in our part of town…I think we may have finally found ‘our place’ to dine in Edmonton.  Welcome to the neighbourhood Bothy…

The Bothy
5482 Calgary Trail
Edmonton
780.761.1761

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 10:03 pm

    Glad you find the notes useful; I try my best!

    The meal looks fantastic! I am so excited to try their charcuterie.

  2. December 10, 2009 6:52 am

    I hope you like it…we really enjoyed the whole experience- thanks for the heads up!

    (I took the picture off…it was such horrid quality…The Bothy’s website has more alluring photos, and I’m sure you’ll take some when you visit too!).

  3. Rhonda permalink
    December 10, 2009 8:31 am

    Bothy sounds like a lot of fun. Thanks for your review.

  4. unplannedcooking permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:19 am

    I love wine bars, especially when they have fabulous appetizers. Never been in one that’s also a whisky bar, but that would certainly perk up my husband’s ears!

  5. December 10, 2009 12:48 pm

    OMG! They’re finally open! SCOTCH NIGHT!! WOOT!!

  6. Bellavino permalink
    December 11, 2009 9:02 am

    I can not wait to try this place! I already put out an email to get a group together to go!

  7. December 11, 2009 10:07 am

    I did the exact same thing, Bellavino.

  8. November 5, 2012 3:20 pm

    Bothy is AMAZING. The chacuterie is to die for. MMMMM!

Trackbacks

  1. Only Here for the Food » Blog Archive » Food Notes for December 14, 2009

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

