Skip to content

bish in halifax

October 22, 2009

bish

I was very much looking forward to a planned dinner at Bish in Halifax.  After a Steering Committee meeting, our lively group headed up Lower Water Street for a long-awaited meal.

Since I chaired the Steering Committee, researched and chose the restaurant, made the reservation and made a big fuss about not resorting to eating dinner at the hotel, the pressure was on for Bish to perform.

Now, Bish is a lovely space.  Overlooking the water, with vases of apples and little tiny candles everywhere, Bish sparkled inside.

pretty bish

pretty bish

Sadly, I have a recurring problem with the host of restaurants, also known as the guy who seats you. There were some serious problems when we showed up with ten people, not eight, as I had reserved.  Two extra.

May I mention that the restaurant was about 40% empty.

There was a big issue about adding two more table settings.  Only with the steely assertion that the two extra people would indeed pay for their meals, too, did extra plates and cutlery appear.  I know I should have called…I forgot.  I apologized for that.  But this was a sure $800 tab…surely a little gracious, no problem reassurance was in order?

Despite the rocky start, I have to say:

1. The servers at BISH were professional, but still warm and amusing.  They knew their food and wine well. They had the Maritime hospitality I had read about.
2.The food.  the food was glorious.  I had lobster risotto.  Risotto, oh, creamy risotto, with FRESH LOBSTER woven inside its soft lusciousness.

lobster risotto did not taste as blurry as it looks

lobster risotto did not taste as blurry as it looks

3.  And what can you say about this?  A trio of chocolate.  I did not actually eat this, but a person who I know and trust did.  Perhaps she can comment on the blog and give us her thoughts.

mmmm chocolate

mmmm chocolate

Bish, because of your impeccable decor, service and food…well, I forgive ya.  I’d go back again in a blink if it wasn’t a seven hour flight across Canada to get to you.  Highly recommended…if you don’t mess with your reservation.  Let’s just blame it in my obnoxious Alberta attitude and call it a truce shall we?

Bish
1475 Lower Water Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia
902 425 7993

One Comment leave one →
  1. ellahorne permalink
    October 23, 2009 10:51 am

    looks great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

