Skip to content

where’s hulbert’s?

May 11, 2009

I was very excited a couple of years ago when Hulbert’s opened in neighbouring Belgravia.  We used to ride our bikes with the kids for gelati, or I’d stop by on the way to the university for a latte, or to pick up some fresh bread.  At night, Mike and I would venture out for coffee and dessert, or to sit on the patio for a glass of wine when the weather turned pleasant.

But now every time I drive past Hulbert’s, it is dark and closed.  I finally drove into the parking lot today to look at the hours on the door, it said:

Monday, Tuesday – Closed
Wed – Saturday – 5 pm – 11 pm
Sunday – 10 am – 10 pm

No wonder I could never catch it open!  What happened to dear Hulbert’s?  Were people not stopping in for a morning coffee or lunch?  Did it decide to focus on live music instead?   Did it lack customers?  Staff?  It was soooo nice having a place that was independent, and believed in the neighbourhood cafe concept.  I’m sad to see its hours shrinking.

Anybody know?

Hulbert’s
7601 115 Street
Edmonton AB
780.436.1161

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 9:24 am

    Maybe it’s on summer hours? The University is near finished classes so I can see them having limited hours.

  2. May 12, 2009 11:43 am

    If I recall correctly, they had to reduce their hours about a year ago because of staffing issues. I assume it had to do with either not being able to find qualified staff or with not being able to afford to pay people to work the quieter shifts (considering McDonald’s was paying people almost $10 at the time, I can only imagine what hulbert’s had to pay their servers, especially if they wanted them to work less-busy shifts that wouldn’t provide as much in tips).

  3. May 13, 2009 2:13 pm

    I saw it was open an evening last week…

  4. May 13, 2009 2:15 pm

    That’s not very helpful, code technology. Perhaps next time you can post something more useful?

    (Also, I will punch you in the arm when you get home tonight).

  5. May 13, 2009 8:13 pm

    oh. i just re-read your post. sorry my darling… :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

