Skip to content

portuguese tarts. at the italian centre

April 28, 2009

tarts

I’m so thankful that the Italians, for the most part, don’t bother making their own desserts.  There is always a bakery nearby that has a selection of sweets to buy and then serve.  Since I’m 1/4 Italian (I know, this is a stretch), I’m happy to go to the bakery at the Italian Centre and purchase tarts and such instead of making my own.

Today I bought Portuguese tarts.  They are filled with egg custard, but sadly, the pastry is a bit soggy.  I would bet there are other places to buy Portuguese tarts in Edmonton, right?

Only here for the food’s Food Notes tells me that the Italian Centre website is now up and running.  Watch it closely for news about a new bakery on the southside…there’s a teaser on the billboard outside the shop.  Hmmm, I wonder what that’s about?

Italian Centre Shop
Southside
5028 104A Street
780.989.4869 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 2:35 pm

    go to Handy Bakery on 118 Ave for the most amazing, mouth-watering, Portuguese custard tarts

  2. Bellavino permalink
    April 28, 2009 3:06 pm

    I love love love the Portuguese tarts from the Italian Center. I always get two when I am there, one for the way home and one for a treat after dinner!

  3. April 28, 2009 8:58 pm

    Some of the Chinese bakeries will have Chinese Portuguese tarts (like those sold in Macau, the former Portuguese colony). I know I’ve definitely seen them in T&T.

  4. April 28, 2009 9:01 pm

    Thanks for all the great suggestions. Shortly after I took this photo of these three tarts, my 115 pound chocolate lab stood up on his hind legs and ate them right off the plate.

    Sigh.

  5. nanu permalink
    April 29, 2009 12:30 am

    I was just talking to Teresa about the bakery the other week. Too bad I live downtown. :(

  6. msteele34 permalink
    April 29, 2009 4:22 am

    Sam clearly has good taste. I lived on those Portuguese tarts when I lived in Montreal. My neighborhood was the Portuguese section of the Plateau so they were abundant. I will have to find a Portuguese bakery in Winnipeg or check out the China Town ones. Thanks for bringing back a good memory.

  7. madalenab permalink
    April 29, 2009 8:10 am

    Check out Popular Bakery 9307 118 Avenue, they also have great custard tarts – there are a few Portuguese bakeries on 118 ave.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

