Skip to content

your kitchen

March 17, 2009

kitchenbefore

We moved into a house built in 1962 that was largely untouched by the original owners.  We inherited blue shag rug, and a hideous rose and brown coloured bathroom.  And this kitchen.  

There is a forty year old built in oven that stopped working, and some sponged effect orange paint on the wall.  And a previous owner wouldn’t spring for actual tiles, and so they painted lines to make it look like a tile backsplash around the counter.  It was a bit brutal.

When house prices shot through the roof two years ago, we decided to renovate.  We were hoping to move to the west coast.  Alas, that did not work out, but we did get a new kitchen and bathroom.  

I really love our new kitchen.  I’m enamoured with putting hot things right on the counters.  And the pull out drawers in the pantry and pot storage.  And the little wine racks.  We bought an IKEA kitchen, which had its pros and cons.  The pros were the guy who did the demo and the install – he was great.  The price was reasonable, too.  The cons were the design process, which was a bit of a joke (they kept losing our blueprints and charging us for more items and then messed up the order when it got sent and just generally dishing up poor customer service, like they were annoyed with us spending thousands of dollars with them), and the fact the shelves already have chips in them.  Don’t look too closely at them, or the needed touch-ups on the door frames – we ran out of money to finish things up.  

kitchenafter1 I’ve never had a nice kitchen before.  I’ve always worked in dingy galleys and I’m pleased to bits about this one.  (Recall, my younger readers, that I’m old.  Old enough to be the mom of an almost 16 year old son).

I think this kitchen helps inspire me to cook.   Although this week we’ve been eating frozen pizza, quesadillas and scrambled eggs and bacon.  So what does that say?

A blog called Use Real Butter is conducting weekly kitchen tours of blogger’s kitchens.  I think that’s kind of cool.  If you have a blog, and you are so inspired, why not post a picture of your kitchen?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 6:49 pm

    It’s perfect and looks very family friendly. I am nowhere close to having my dream kitchen, but when I look back to where I’ve come from and what I’ve made do with, I can’t complain.

  2. March 17, 2009 7:56 pm

    Great transformation, and I’m glad it inspires you. Sometimes that energy is what pushes me over the edge to make, bake, or cook something!

  3. March 17, 2009 9:01 pm

    Nice kitchen! I love that there is so much light in there. I wish I had more countertop space. We renovated our kitchen several years ago and I too feel that it inspires you to cook and bake. (when it’s clean of course).

  4. March 18, 2009 7:40 am

    If you note the before and after pics, it is basically the same design. We knew if we started knocking out walls we’d be in trouble… But what we did manage to do was create more counter space and a bigger work area inside.

    I think it is perfect for this house — I’m glad we didn’t try to over-do it.

Trackbacks

  1. Only Here for the Food » Blog Archive » Food Notes for March 23, 2009

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

