Skip to content

pan fried trout, spinach and snow peas

February 21, 2009

troutDid you see the Top Chef where it was the fish episode and everybody had to fillet various types of fish?

If you did, you know that tonight I was the Leah character.  And that’s not a good thing.

I bought some trout as directed from the seafood guy at Save-On.  It was skin side up, upside down and tightly packaged.  I couldn’t really see what I was buying.  It was a mistake not to drive to Billingsate and get fish there instead.  At least I can see it behind the counter, and I can pick out the fillets I wanted.

This trout ended up being full of bones and fins.  Basically it just had its head lopped off and the guts scooped out.  I had to do the rest.  

It wasn’t pretty.  By the time I was done, I had skin with a bit of fish on it, a la Top Chef Leah.   I butchered the fish.  I didn’t fillet it.

So all this lovely preamble leads up to a recipe that I bet you are just DYING to make, huh?  I still finished the dish (I’m no quitter, like Leah) – see it pictured above.  Take careful note of the gorgeous raku pottery platter it is displayed on – this is courtesy of my mom and dad on Vancouver Island.  Thanks, Mom and Dad!

If I had not butchered the fish, this recipe would be perfectly fine.  Although Mike wouldn’t touch it, so he ate leftover meatloaf instead.  

Here’s the recipe.  I’m too traumatized by what I did to that fish to type it out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 1:02 pm

    Trout is usually very easily to de-bone, as long as you cook it first. I typically buy whole trout (gutted, but the head is still attached) and pan fry the whole thing (occasionally I’ll lop off the head and fins before it goes in the pan, but not usually).

    I find that it’s a lot easier to de-bone and otherwise “butcher” after it’s already cooked.

  2. February 23, 2009 1:20 pm

    Oh. I did not know that. I did not do that poor fish justice. Next time, I’ll cook it first. Grazie!

  3. February 23, 2009 2:37 pm

    Glad I could help. Usually, you’ll be able to simply grab the spine and lift it gently away from the meat. The rest of the bones will usually stay attached to the spine and pull away from the meat as you do this. Just make sure not to pull too hard or too quickly, or the ribs will snap off and be a real pain to remove.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

