Skip to content

nibbles

February 20, 2009
  • I just saw in Vue magazine that Parkallen Restaurant is now open for breakfast every day at 9 am.  They boast a variety of eggs benedict, my favourite.  The breakfast gods seem to be answering my call.
  • kerstins1I picked up a Kerstin’s Chocolate at Leva this morning.  It is Fleur de Sel, and at first I didn’t like the texture, but then after a few bites, it turned out to be layered between sweet and savoury and most delicious.  This chocolate is like fine wine – best to be savoured slowly.  

 

 

 

  • I was at Wildflower Grill for lunch today, and this is the first time I’ve been disappointed by the service.  Our waiter – a regular there – was clearly not on his game.  We waited forever while he answered the phone instead of seating us (we had a reservation), we got the table right by the door, and I froze my butt off every time someone opened the door.  He seemed annoyed that we didn’t order either wine or the special.  He screwed up Mike’s drink order and seemed annoyed when he had to amend it.  I know people have off days…make mistakes…but the attitude thing?  It really does cast a damper over a (expensive) and rare lunch out.  The host was exceedingly gracious and attentive, though, which helped.
     
  • I do not want to talk about Top Chef this week because (SPOILER) Fabio got eliminated.  Let us not speak of it again.
     
  • greekburger1Here’s another funny little thumbprint photo.  This was our dinner the other night from the More than Burnt Toast food blog – Val’s Wanna Be Greek Burger.   We should have doubled the recipe – we made them with ground pork and the kids vacuumed them up like they were a bunch of Hoovers.
     
  • And tomorrow night?  The greatly coveted annual Birthday Dinner, this year at Blue Pear.  I hope it is good, because gosh it is really expensive ($89/each before vino).  Don’t tell my husband that there are veal cheeks, mushrooms, and eel on the menu for appetizer choice.   Thanks for your input into that choice, internet friends!  
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    February 20, 2009 4:06 pm

    My friends and I got WAY too much attitude from a server last night – it definitely ruined the meal. I agree about the sign of a good recipe as well (this one, I find, is always gone before we know it – http://orangette.blogspot.com/2008/02/like-lullaby.html).

    Regarding the Fleur de Sel chocolate – there are definitely ones that I prefer from Kerstin’s; think it just needs more salt to me. But, of course, it’s bad by any means.

    Enjoy your birthday dinner!

  2. Rachel permalink
    February 20, 2009 4:07 pm

    whoops, this link should work:

    http://orangette.blogspot.com/2008/02/like-lullaby.html

  3. February 20, 2009 5:47 pm

    Yes, enjoy the dinner and Happy Birthday.

    Fabio gone = me shedding a single man tear.

  4. onlyhereforthefood permalink
    February 21, 2009 5:19 pm

    Sorry to hear about your negative experience at Wildflower. I hope it was a rare off day.

    Have a great dinner at Blue Pear! Happy birthday!

  5. ellahorne permalink
    February 21, 2009 10:01 pm

    yum… i love that banana cake!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

