Skip to content

crab cakes, wild rice and tomato salad

January 31, 2009

crabcakes1Meet my oddly lit dinner.

The crab cakes were from Billingsgate.  I’ve never made a crab cake in my life.  I like to order them in restaurants, though.  They are often dry.  But these ones were not.  They were moist and not too fishy.  I have no idea what the filler was, but it did the trick for me.  I simply fried them in butter for five minutes on each side.

With it, we had a tomato, basil, feta, red onion salad, with balsamic vinegar, olive oil and garlic dressing.

And some wild rice.  That I made more flavourful by adding chopped green onion, poultry seasoning and thyme.  And I cooked the rice in chicken stock instead of water.

Along with the crab cakes, I made a crab cake sauce.  Because I’m a saucy kind of gal.

Crab Cake Sauce

1/4 cup mayonnaise
2 teaspoons olive oil
juice of 1/2 a lemon
2 Tablespoons grainy mustard
2 Tablespoons capers, chopped

Mix everything together.  Voila:  A tarty crab sauce.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

