Skip to content

rosemary lamb chops, roasted beets, fresh pasta and sauteed spinach

January 19, 2009

For Sunday dinner, I cobbled together a meal that consisted of ingredients from the Strathcona Farmers Market.  I shopped there on Saturday, but it was SO PACKED that I barely even made it over to the vendors’ booths without fighting my way through a jostling crowd.   By the time I left, I was sweating and claustrophobic and remembered why I mourn the closing of the outdoor City Market in every October.

But Farmers Markets are good, even if they are packed with people like me, who are giddy that the temperature finally rose above zero and who could not drag their ass down there until 10:30 am – serves me right for showing up there at prime time. 

I bought lamb chops, beets and fresh pasta.   The spinach was already in the fridge.  I stupidly forgot the name of the sources, except the pasta came from the Pasta Delight Inc folks.  The beets came from the lady by the bank machines, and the lamb from a nice Ukrainian man in the middle.  That’s not very helpful is it?  The main point is:  spend your dollar at any of these vendors, and that is a dollar well spent.

Our dinner tonight was lovely.  The key was in the fresh, local ingredients and the little extras. 

lamb

rosemary lamb chops – rubbed with olive oil, rosemary, garlic and salt and pepper before being barbecued.  I made a reduced balsamic sauce by simmering 3/4 cup balsamic vinegar with minced rosemary and black peppercorns.  Reduce to 1/4 of the original sauce, strain, serve over the chops.
roasted beets – precooked, peeled, and mixed with olive oil, thyme sprigs and garlic.  Roasted in a 400 degree oven for half an hour.
fresh pasta – tossed with a sauce of olive oil with basil, lemon and anchovy paste – with a splash of white wine and one chopped red chili.
sauteed spinach – heat a frying pan, add olive oil and minced garlic.  Add spinach and saute until wilted.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 11:15 am

    I love the Strathcona market too, and I think I may have been among the crush of people on Saturday. I also look forward to the city market reopening, especially since it’s four blocks from where I live.

    Did you buy the beets precooked (I assume not…)? Or did you precook them yourself? I love roasted beets but I always have such a hard time cooking them. They usually take twice as long as the recipe says and then by the time they’re not crunchy they’ve shrunk to little charred nuggets. How do you do it?

  2. January 21, 2009 1:06 pm

    The secret to roasted beets is to boil the heck out of them for 50 minutes. When they are still warm, peel them – the peels come off super easy. Then half them, mix with balsamic vinegar, thyme and garlic and put them in the oven for 45 minutes or sooooo. Perfecto!

Trackbacks

  1. lemon thyme drumsticks « foodie suz
  2. christmas day dinner – 2009 « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

