Skip to content

jamie magazine arrived today!

January 14, 2009

jamieandsuzFive weeks after I ordered it, my first Jamie Magazine showed up in the mail.   This is very very exciting in the world of foodie suz.   Jamie also included a catalogue to his Jme Collection.  (I’m sure he stuffed the envelope himself).  In the Jme Collection, he hocks sells cutlery, dishes, candles, ketchup and even plum pudding.  

I thought my review of the magazine would be biased and gushing.  It oddly isn’t, which means I haven’t totally succumbed to the allure of Jamie.

I hate to say it, but the magazine is an avenue for the selling of Jamie stuff, and for advertising Jamie’s friends’ cookbooks.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  I’m sure his stuff is great and his friends are competent. But this is good to know before you shell out the cash.  
 
There is a restaurant review, travel piece and food store summary, but this is not your usual cooking magazine stuffed with recipes. The recipes are here and there, associated with longer articles.  The photos are all lovely – but the magazine isn’t glossy persay – the paper is from a sustainable forest project, so it is a rustic-looking publication.  There are loads of quotes (says Jamie) scattered all over, which gives it a bit of an Oprah feel to it.  Not like there’s anything wrong with that either. 
 
There is a well written article called From India to the east end and back again along with recipes for Kashmiri Lamb and Spicy Okra.  I loved the article on Stockholm because it reminded me of my time in Norway (not to say the Norwegians are like the Swedes – they are not.  But they do have some overlap in their food) but there’s lots of talk of fish and reindeer.  (Sorry, Rudolph.  Reindeer meatballs are delish).
  
There is a Brad Pitt interview.  Apparently he drinks ‘buckets of coffee’, and hates salmon.  And Angelina doesn’t cook.  She serves Brad cereal.  Brad doesn’t really seem to care too much about food.  This makes him an odd interview subject.

To top it off, the magazine ends with some tear out recipes for the week (root veg mash, shellfish with split peas) and the very last page is written by Jamie’s wife Jools herself, looking all gorgeous in her byline photo, in which she confesses her Rolo and rubber pregnancy cravings. 

I think being a huge Jamie Oliver fan is mandatory to enjoying the magazine.  If he bugs you in any way, don’t cough up 44.50 pounds for a subscription.   I like his affable, rumpled self enough that I have no regrets.  His recipes are wholesome, foodie suz friendly and chock full of good things like olive oil, bacon and lemons and most importantly, he seems sincerely passionate about food. 

Speaking of all things Jamie (who can blame the man for striking while the iron is hot?), it appears as if his new Ministry of Food cookbook is out in Canada.  This is according to Amazon.ca.  Chapters does not list it.  Hmmm.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 9:19 am

    So can you only get it if you subscribe? A friend of mine is dying to get copies, and thought they could only be bought in the UK.

  2. January 14, 2009 10:17 am

    I have not seen it in stores, no…Sunterra or Indigo would likely be the best bet – they have the best variety of ‘food’ magazines…

  3. nanu permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:58 pm

    When I was in England last month, only one book store carried the mag, as it was exclusive to that shop. If I recall correctly, it was WHSmith. I picked up my copy there and agree with your comments. I do love the rustic feel to it though and the pictures are beautiful (even if they are hocking J’me’s dishes). But 44.50GBP a subscription? Ugh. I think I’ll pick it up on when I’m abroad.

    All the while in England, I had been flipping through Ministry of Food too and ended up getting it for Christmas. The recipes are super simple (as it’s aimed for those who have never cooked before) and I love the layout and all the whacky wallpaper throughout. It’s my first Jaime book, although I have a load of Gordon’s already. I just really wanted one of Jaime’s because his cooking show specials are brilliant. (The best reason to go to England–great cooking shows!)

  4. January 15, 2009 5:28 am

    Good review. I think I’ll put the subscription on hold for now.

  5. January 15, 2009 10:51 am

    Like nanu I had heard that they were exclusive to WH Smith, which is why I was surprised to hear you were able to get a subscription. I think they’re limiting the print runs too, so I doubt it will show up here on the shelves in the near future. The British mags that Chapters/Indigo can get are from a separate distributor, not WH Smith.

  6. nanu permalink
    June 7, 2009 2:41 pm

    Just thought I’d let you know that I saw (and bought) Jamie’s magazine at Chapters on Friday. It’s not often that I go to Chapters, so maybe it has even been there a while.

  7. June 8, 2009 11:48 am

    The tv show was broadcasting on the Food Network this weekend too. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

