Skip to content

cheese that stinks

January 13, 2009

okacheeseI have a long history of liking cheese that stinks.  (Sorry, I mean cheese that is pungent).  Oka cheese is a prime example. 

How can this stuff taste so mild when it smells to high heaven?  Usually there is a close correlation between smell and taste.  Not in the mighty Oka’s case.   It must be the odour from the rind?

Oka is a semi-soft cheese, famous in Quebec.  It smells like someone died, but it actually tastes very mild and nutty and is good served on a ham sandwich.  (Like I did today).   Taleggio from Italy also falls into this category.

I also love goat’s cheese, bleu cheese, extra-old cheddar, feta cheese, any kind of gouda cheese,  Dubliner cheese, soft mozza balls, Norwegian brown cheese (which I ate in Norway, sliced very thin, with jam on toast) and Manchego cheese from Spain. 

Wikipedia has a list of cheeses. I’d like to eat ‘em all.   I really should work at Paddy’s Cheese shop so I could eat cheese all day long.  Then you’d have to roll me back home over the river with a stick.  The staff in Paddy’s are great – very knowledgeable, not stingy with the samples, and they offer a service to send gift baskets of cheese…which is one of my favourite Christmas gifts that I send to dear friends.

What’s your favourite kind of cheese?

Paddy’s Cheese Shop
12509 -102 Avenue
Edmonton, AB
780.413.0367

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 1:19 pm

    I am in cheese love today… you should see my fridge. We checked out a new market in town yesterday and discovered they carried Gort’s Gouda from BC. Gort’s makes this fantastic aged masdammer… so yummy!

  2. ellahorne permalink
    January 13, 2009 4:43 pm

    i am a soft goat cheese person….. i enjoy it piled on croissant on the weekend.

    also i agree with my mom on the norwegian brown cheese. i havent had it since i was 5 but i suddenly have a mad craving for it……..

  3. madalenab permalink
    January 15, 2009 10:26 am

    I’m with you Sue! Anything stinky, or should I say pungent, is my kind of cheese. It’s got to singe some nostril hairs to be good. Gorgonzola, pecorino, provolone picante etc.

  4. January 18, 2009 11:04 am

    Italian picorino (sp?) for me…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

