Skip to content

shrimp in garlic white wine sauce

January 2, 2009

shrimpWe had the last of our five big holiday meals tonight.  There are a mountain of dishes calling to me.  It was worth it to see the boys dancing to Donkey singing La Vida Loca.  On the menu with our friends, a lively family of five:

Bacon-wrapped scallops – cook some bacon until slimy.  Wrap around scallops, secure with a toothpick and barbecue until the bacon is cooked, about 10 minutes.  Yes, I made my husband go out on the deck to barbecue in -28 degree weather.  What a sight!

Shrimp in garlic white wine sauce, served with a loaf of crusty French bread (see below).

Roast chicken from Nigella.  I have to say that my hunt for free-range chicken really paid off.  The chicken was firm, yet moist and flavourful - a big difference from the watery tasteless Lilydale chickens.  Thank you, farmer from Ponoka.

Roasted potato and sweet potato fries.  These are going to be the death of me.  First they were burning, then they were soggy.  I give up on the homemade baked fries.  Any and all kind suggestions for improvement is appreciated.

Mashed baby potatoes from the Little Potato Company - with butter, cream and Parmesan.  (This was a salvage potato job because I could tell my roasted fries were going south).

Roasted red and yellow peppers with feta These weren’t seasonal, but I made them anyhow.

Maple carrots.  (Again).  These are really tasty.  I don’t even like cooked carrots, but I will eat these.  The key is to cook them al dente.

Bailey’s cheesecake- generously supplied by our guests.  Andy is one of those guys who makes up recipes and is successful at it.  He tells me the key to a moist cheesecake is sour cream.  And I should always cook it in a water bath in the oven.  AND cut around the springform pan with a knife when cooling.  Ah cheesecake.  You are a fickle beast.

Shrimp in Garlic White Wine Sauce

40 or so uncooked large shrimp, tails on
8 Tablespoons olive oil
8 Tablespoons butter
1/2 medium red onion, chopped
10 large garlic cloves, peeled, sliced and squashed with a knife
2 Tablespoons paprika
1 teaspoon dried red chili flakes
1/3 cup of white wine
salt and pepper to taste
handful of chopped cilantro

Heat olive oil and butter until butter is melted in a heavy pan.  Add garlic and simmer for five minutes.  Add chopped onion and cook for 3 minutes.  Add paprika and red chili flakes.  Add shrimp and cook until barely done (about 4 minutes), stirring constantly.  Add white wine and cover the pot to let steam for five minutes.  Season with salt and pepper to taste and garnish with cilantro.

Serve in cooking vessel with slices of french bread to mop up the sauce.  It is very messy, but buono!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. clw1 permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:06 pm

    I can’t wait to try the Shrimp in Garlic White Wine sauce. When I saw the picture – I thought it looked fabulous and when I read the recipe – I know it must be delicious. I

    Tomorrow we will go to the market to pick up the ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Rachel permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:21 pm

    My foolproof method for fries is to make sure that they’re all coated with oil and that the sheet pan is oiled as well (it doesn’t have to be a crazy amount, but enough), and then I stick them in a 425 oven, and flip them once the underside is just a bit brown. And then as soon as the other side starts to turn a bit brown, I crank the heat up to 500. They should get nice and brown at this point, so you have to watch to make sure they don’t burn. Usually, once my oven beeps to say that it’s heated to 500, they’re done. This works for me every time, but you could also try parboiling them to make them crispier. I also cut them fairly small (still a thick-cut fry, but not a wedge).

  3. onlyhereforthefood permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:44 am

    Those garlic shrimp look great! Your entire dinner sounds delicious!

  4. January 3, 2009 9:48 am

    Ohhh, that’s excellent advice, Rachel. I did not oil the pan properly (ruined pan), and I think they were cut toooo thick. Hence all my horrible problems. We tried to pick out the most burnt ones and our guests kindly said they were ‘carmelized’.

    That shrimp is really good. Do not overcook them! We were planning on going to the market today too…but it is -33 out this morning and I cannot envision walking with the kids from the parking to the market. Is it really plus 2 in Victoria, clw1?!?!?! AAAAARGH.

  5. clw1 permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:12 pm

    Tis true, tis true. In fact the thermometer is upto +3.8 My kids have been outside playing street hockey fo 2 hours and husband is bike-riding. I’ll keep you posted on my cooking success but tonight is pizza and hockey night.

Trackbacks

  1. homemade ketchup « foodie suz
  2. sunterra premade burgers « foodie suz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

