Skip to content

rambling about movies and soup

December 29, 2008

roastedveggiesoup

Yesterday we had a belly full of popcorn (post viewing of Slumdog Millionaire, which is the type of movie where popcorn doesn’t work.  I started watching it and the depiction of the slums of Mumbai and thought:  I cannot pig out on a buttery popcorn sitting in my comfortable North American theatre).  This movie reminded me of our own excesses, and was humbling in a big way. 

But eventually, we still had to eat.  So I went the modest route.

We had leftover roasted vegetables from our pre-Christmas dinner, so I did what Ina told me to do and made Roasted Vegetable Soup for supper last night.   I changed it only slightly by throwing in some left-over cooked baby potatoes and a touch of half and half cream.  I like thick, creamy soup.  I put slivers of manchega cheese on top.  It was yummy end to our last day of holidays.

This would be a good time to pause and mention that the Menu for Hope has been extended until December 31st.  Last year they raised over $90,000 for the School Lunch Program in Lesotho.  This year the tally is only $46,000.  There are three more days to get raffle tickets for some amazing prizes!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom &/or Dad permalink
    December 30, 2008 12:34 am

    Bet the soup was great–not unlike the veggies were on the 23rd! This coming from the female of this household–we all know about males and squash!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

