Skip to content

fettucine alla carbonara

July 7, 2008

Last week, my friend Glen told me that carbonara is what he makes when he wants something fast, easy and good.

Tonight I wanted something fast, easy and good.  I have made a version of carbonara in my distant past and ended up with scrambled eggs on top of mushy pasta.  It was gross.

Thank goodness for my boyfriend Jamie Oliver’s cookbooks.  This is adapted from Jamie’s Italy.  His version made Italian sausage meatballs.  I didn’t have the inclination for that tonight…so I just made plain carbonara instead and added a tomato and carrot salad with ginger dressing.  And I didn’t have linguine, so I made it with spinach fettucine.

Fettucine alla carbonara

4 slices of bacon, chopped
salt and pepper
fettucine
4 large egg yolks
1/2 cup half and half cream
1 cup freshly grated Parmesean cheese
zest of one lemon
fresh chives, chopped

Fry up the bacon and chop into pieces.  Put on the pasta water.  Cook the pasta until just al dente.

In a bowl, mix the yolks, cream, 1/2 cup parmesean, and lemon zest.  

Drain the pasta, but reserve a cup of the pasta water.  Add the yolk mixture and the pasta water.  Mix up, quickly!  Season with salt and pepper. Serve and grate parmesean on top.

Yum in the tum.  It was so yum that we ate it all before I even had a chance to take a photo.

BONUS:  This Roots and Grubs blog is the funniest food blog I have ever read.  Yes, I just said the words funny and food blog in the same sentence.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

